Using Vinyl as a Stencil – Polka Dot Mirror

Have you seen these mirrors at Ikea?  They are $1.99.  Can’t beat that, right?  I bought a few, decorated one, and added it to my Valentine decor.

I started out by cutting polka dots out of vinyl using Cricut – craft room.  I removed all the dots and used the leftover vinyl as my pattern.  Then I wrapped it around my frame.

mirror 1

I painted my frame with tole paint.  *This pic doesn’t show the the edges painted – I went back and painted them because it looked a little unfinished.

mirror2

When the paint dried I pulled off the vinyl and then sanded the whole frame to give it an aged look.  

Mirror

Now think of the other shapes and designs you could do!  If you wanted you could remove the mirror and make it a picture frame.
For more DIY projects be sure to visit Staci over at The Potters Place
Leave a comment

Filed under Decorate Everything, Design Team

Leave a Reply

